NCAA Division II Football

NCAA Division II Football is an intermediate level of collegiate football in the NCAA which includes colleges that tend to be a little smaller and have a lower budget than the NCAA Division I Football colleges. Due to the lower budget, these colleges offer some full scholarships and a lot of partial scholarships. The scheduling on this level depends on the conference you are in and they also get longer in-game breaks than the NCAA Division I Football colleges. There are a total of 169 teams in NCAA Division II Football and 17 conferences which include the CIAA, G-MAC, GAC, GLIAC, GLVC, GNAC, Gulf South, Independent, LSC, MEC, MIAA, NE-10, NSIC, PSAC, RMAC, SAC, and SIAC conferences. NIL compensation has also gained momentum in D2 football and currently if we see the overall Division II landscape women are leading men, 66.9% to 33.1%. The NCAA Division II Football is a bit less competitive than the NCAA Division I Football, but there are still some solid teams and athletes who are on the same level as  NCAA Division I Football.



Difference between D1/D2/D3

Division 2 Colleges.

NIL Value in Football.


Back to glossary overview